Sunday, March 21, 2010

~ SwimSafer - Replacing NASSA and LTSP ~

Although Denver just got his Bronze Award in the recent National Survival Swimming Award (NASSA) Test, NASSA and Learn-to-Swim Programme (LTSP) will be replaced by SwimSafer in July 2010.

Reports indicate that SwimSafer will emphasis on teaching Singaporeans (especially children) with the necessary water safety knowledge and a wide range of water survival skills as a safeguard against drowning. The SwimSafer programme comprises of six stages - SwimSafer Stage 1 and progressively, Stage 2, Stage 3, Bronze, Silver and Gold.

Six Progressive Stages of the SwimSafer Programme

Stage 1: Introduction to Water Skills
The objective is for your child to gain confidence and develop independence in the water, as well as learn general and deep-end water safety. Techniques taught include forward and backward movement, entering and exiting the pool safely, and introduction to personal water survival skills.

Stage 2: Fundamental Water Skills
General skills development will include unassisted step entry into water, sculling, feet-first surface dives, personal water safety skills and water safety awareness in an aquatic environment. Your child will be encouraged to achieve 25 metres of continuous swim.

Stage 3: Personal Water Survival and Stroke Developmental Skills
Principles of personal water survival and basic rescue skills will be taught. Your child will demonstrate proficiency in sculling, underwater skills, and the use of a Personal Floatation Device. Your child will be encouraged to achieve 50 metres of continuous swim.

Bronze: Personal Water Survival and Stroke Improvement Skills
Development of your child?s stroke techniques will be a focus here, along with coordinated breathing in deep water while swimming 100 metres. Principles of water craft safety will be introduced, as well as continual work on rescue and personal water survival skills.

Silver: Intermediate Personal Water Survival and Stroke Refinement Skills
Fundamental of diving will be introduced. Development of rescue skills and personal water survival skills also continue at more advanced levels. Your child will be required to demonstrate efficient stroke techniques to complete the Silver stage before progressing to the Gold stage.

Gold: Advanced Personal Water Survival and Swimming Skills Proficiency
Your child will be required to perform strokes with greater ease, efficiency, power and smoothness over 400 metres. Rescue skills and water safety knowledge will focus on lifesaving readiness. Standing dive and advanced personal water survival skills will continue to be taught.

SwimSafer will be rolled out at public swimming pools on 5 July 2010 and all instructors teaching at SSC will have to be SwimSafer certified, as well as teaching swimming classes based on the SwimSafer syllabus. Hubby said Denver's instructor (who is a life guard) told him that he too will be going through the induction courses next month to be certified. He also expressed his concern that Denver will need to brush up on his strokes with the new criterias.

For more information, please visit:

Looking forward to see how the new improved swimming program will be like.

No comments:

Post a Comment